Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
College Station Cougars dot 5A all-state baseball team

College Station Cougars dot 5A all-state baseball team

  • 0

Five College Station Cougars earned spots on the Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association's Class 5A All-State Baseball Team led by senior designated hitter Jack Madigan, who made the first team.

Sophomore pitcher Travis Hester made the second team, with senior second baseman Mark Golladay and freshman pitcher Bryson Lucas on the third team. Senior first baseman Mathew Bennett also earned honorable mention.

Rudder senior catcher Sean Arnold made the third team.

Hester went 10-2 with a 1.97 ERA for the 29-14-1 Cougars who reached the state tournament. Golladay, who signed with Hill College, batted .363 with 28 RBIs, while Lucas went 9-1 with four saves and a 1.90 ERA.

Arnold, who helped Rudder reach the regional quarterfinals for the first time, batted .398 with 22 RBIs. He was District 18-5A's defensive MVP for the second straight season.

A&M Consolidated junior pitcher Burl Carraway (10-7, 2.21 ERA, three saves) and junior designated hitter Jonathan Sylvester (.368, 24 RBIs) and Bryan junior shortstop Jake Fuller (.409, 16 RBIs) earned honorable mention along with Bennett (.361, 21 RBIs).

In statewide voting, San Antonio Alamo Heights' Forrest Whitley is the player of the year. The senior pitcher, who signed with the Houston Astros after being drafted 17th in the first round, went 10-1 with an 0.28 ERA for the Mules, who beat the Cougars 5-2 in the state semifinals in a Whitley vs. Hester matchup.

A pair of Texas A&M signees also earned all-state honors. Wylie East senior shortstop Braden Shewmake made the first team, and Hutto senior Tristen Bayless made the second team as an outfielder and earned honorable mention as a pitcher. Shewmake batted .495 with 28 RBIs and was 10-5A's MVP. Bayless, drafted in the 35th round by Washington, went 8-1 with an 0.93 ERA and a pair of no-hitters, and he batted .393 with 21 RBIs. Bayless, who missed most of his junior season with a thumb injury, originally signed with McLennan.

TSWA Class 5A All-State Team

Here is the Collin Street Bakery/Texas Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A All-State Baseball Team.


Pitchers — Forrest Whitley, San Antonio Alamo Heights, sr.; Kyle Flamm, Grapevine, sr.; Blair Henley, Arlington Heights, sr.

Reliever — Daniel Lewis, Georgetown, sr.

Catcher — Canaan Smith, Rockwall Heath, jr.

First baseman — Noel Vela, Mission Veterans Memorial, jr.

Second baseman — Andruw McKenzie, Burleson Centennial, sr.

Shortstop — David Hamilton, San Marcos, sr.

Third baseman — Ulysses Cantu, Boswell, sr.

Outfielders — Jordan Salas, Lubbock Cooper, sr.; Heston Kjerstad, Randall, jr.; Conner Neuman, Grapevine, jr.

Designated hitter — Jack Madigan, College Station, sr.

Utility infielder — Braden Shewmake, Wylie East, sr.

Utility outfielder — Luke Richter, Austin McCallum, sr. ­

Player of the year — Forrest Whitley, San Antonio Alamo Heights, sr.

Coach of the year — Steven Hutcherson, Grapevine


Pitchers — Anthony Montoya, Flour Bluff, sr.; Travis Hester, College Station, soph. ; (tie) Jacob Blankenship, Santa Fe, sr.; Sam Bergeron, Crosby, sr.

Reliever — Zac Leigh, Victoria East, sr.

Catcher — (tie) Josh Breaux, Tomball, sr. Kyle Emshoff, Caallen, sr.

First baseman — Griffin Benson, Aledo, sr.

Second baseman — Kade Strowd, Mansfield Legacy, sr.

Shortstop — Ty Jones, Grapevine, sr.

Third baseman — Koby Hott, Wichita Falls Rider, sr.

Outfielders — Trey Ramirez, Donna, sr.; Tristan Bayless, Hutto, sr.; (tie) Cade Bullinger, Boerne Champion, sr.; Anthony Dominiguez, Arlington Chisholm Trail, jr.

Designated hitter — Arturo Sanchez, El Paso Eastlake, sr.

Utility infielder — Thomas Santos, Burleson Centennial, jr.

Utility outfielder — A.J. Perez, Lubbock Cooper, sr.


Pitchers — Kyle Eifert, Randall, jr.; Tyler Moreno, San Marcos, jr.; (tie) Ryan Walls, Whitehouse, jr.; Ricky Arevalo, Calallen, sr.; David Moffat, Wichita Falls Rider, jr.; Ivan Ulloa, El Paso Eastlake, sr.

Reliever — Bryson Lucas, College Station, fr.

Catcher — (tie) Kyle Moos, Medina Valley, sr.; Sean Arnold, Rudder, sr.

First baseman — James Johnston, Wichita Falls Rider, jr.

Second baseman — (tie) Jay Garibay, Lubbock Cooper, sr.; Mark Golladay, College Station, sr.

Shortstop — Ryan Vilade, Frisco, jr.

Third baseman — T.J. Rumfield, Temple, soph.

Outfielders — Garrett Crews, Frisco Liberty, jr.; Mason House, Whitehouse, jr.; (tie) Shane Daugherty, Tomball, sr.; John Gaddis, Calallen, sr.

Designated hitter — Chris Torres, Fort Worth North Side, jr.

Utility infielder — (tie) Jaxon Williams, B.F. Terry, sr.; Layton Wolver, Corsicana, sr.

Utility outfielder — Jackson Kennemore, Corsicana, jr.


Pitchers — Samien Alaniz, Flour Bluff, sr.; Austin Baxter, Lubbock Cooper, jr.; Tristan Bayless, Hutto, sr.; Marcus Cantu, Fox Moody, jr.; Shane Daugherty, Tomball, sr.; Mason Englert, Forney, soph.; Taylor Floyd, Frisco Centennial, sr.; Carter Fronk, Ridge Point, sr.; Corbin Hall, Corsicana, jr.; Carter Henry, Port Neches-Groves, sr.; Koby Hott, Wichita Falls Rider, sr.; Kragen Kechely, Vista Ridge, sr.; Ryan Leckich, Port Neches-Groves, sr.; Cristian Ramos, Mission Veterans Memorial, jr.; Florencio Serrano, Robstown, fr.; Sam Russell, Austin McCallum, sr.; Aaron Samaniego, El Paso Riverside, jr.; Thomas Santos, Burleson Centennial, jr.; John Weber, Boerne Champion, sr.; Austin Weaver, Georgetown, sr.

Relief pitchers — Burl Carraway, A&M Consolidated, jr. ; Connor Gage, Mt. Pleasant, jr.

Catchers — Connor Gage, Mt. Pleasant, jr.; Nathan Gabryszwski, Crosby, sr.; Landon Gray, Granbury, sr.; Cameron Haller, Marshall, jr.; Stetson Rios, Dumas, jr.; Axel Vazquez, Donna North, sr.

First basemen — Mathew Bennett, College Station, sr.; Ty Behringer, Lake Dallas, sr.; Paxton Covel, Randall, sr.; Jared Martin, Frisco Wakeland, jr.; Nico Santos, Uvalde, sr.

Second basemen — Chris Boothe, Livingston, sr.; Everett Harris, Frisco, jr.; Jamey Richey, Lindale, soph.; Brandon Tobias, San Marcos, jr.

Shortstops — Jake Fuller, Bryan, jr. ; Eddie Galvan, Mission Veterans Memorial, jr.; Taylor Grimes, Seagoville, sr.; Parker Kelly, Wichita Falls Rider, jr.; Donovan Langston, Frisco Liberty, jr.; Chance Medina, Cedar Creek, sr.; Jordan Powell, Terrell, sr.

Third basemen — Chris Boothe, Livingston, sr.; Nick Dayton, Wylie, sr.; Andrew King, Livingston, sr.; David Moffat, Wichita Falls Rider, jr.; Jesse Levy-Rubinett, Austin McCallum, sr.

Outfielders — Kyle Flamm, Grapevine, sr.; Chezzare Gonzalez, Pharr Valley View, jr.; Ben McConnell, Lake Dallas, sr.; Anthony Montoya, Flour Bluff, sr.; Nathan Rabe, Calallen, sr.; Elijah Reyna, Edinburg Vela, sr.; Parker Tadlock, Georgetown, jr.; Parker Taylor, San Antonio Alamo Heights, jr.

Designated hitters — Jonathan Sylvester, A&M Consolidated, jr. ; Cade Thompson, Texarkana, sr.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

Weekend Things to Do

News Alert