Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.


  • Updated
  • 0

August 10, 2003

Staff reports

Marine Corps Pvt. Zack D. Everett, a 1998 graduate of Iola High School recently completed 12 weeks of basic training at Marine Corps Recruit Depot in San Diego.

Sasha Martin of Bryan was recently named to the Southwest Texas State University dean’s list.

The following local residents graduated from Abilene Christian University during May 2003 commencement:

Lauren Garner of College Station graduated with a bachelor of science in integrated marketing communication.

Jamie Dahman of Iola graduated with a bachelor of arts in history and music.

Allen Academy graduate Jennifer Zeig was given a $5,000 scholarship after being named the Texas winner in a Gatorade-sponsored student athlete competition.

Zeig, valedictorian of the 2003 graduating class, was nominated by her coaches for her athletic ability and leadership on the court, in the classroom and in the community.

Zeig is among 50 student athletes — one from each state — to win the award. She will use her scholarship to join her three brothers this fall at Texas A&M University, where she plans to major in biochemistry. In addition to her scholarship, the Allen Academy athletic department will receive a $1,000 donation from Gatorade.

She also was selected as the Texas female Wendy’s High School Heisman Award winner and the Elks Grand Lodge Student of the Year scholarship recipient for Texas.

Bryan police Detective Bryan Russell, a seven-year veteran of the department, has been promoted to the rank of sergeant.

Russell, 29, holds advanced certificates in patrol, criminal investigations, bicycle patrol, tactical response and community-oriented policing. In December, he received a police commendation for his work on an attempted capital murder case and a community service citation for his work cleaning up the neighborhood in his beat.

In 1998, he received a departmental citation for Operation Smokescreen, which impacted drug dealing on the city’s west side.

A teachers association has recognized Bryan High School agriculture science teachers Terry Hausenfluck and Mary Jasek with distinguished service awards for teachers who work with radio and television.

The awards were presented by the Vocational Agriculture Teachers Association and commend agriculture science teachers for their efforts in publicizing FFA and science programs through local media.

The teachers received the awards during a recent professional development conference in Wichita Falls last week.

A Bryan television station and radio station also were honored. KORA 98.3 received the distinguished service radio award and KBTX-TV was presented with the distinguished television service award.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


Breaking News

Weekend Things to Do

News Alert